As and from September 2017, Powerscourt National School has a Student Council, which consists of a group of class representatives who help to share students’ ideas, interests, and concerns with school staff. The Student Council endeavours to promote a positive atmosphere in our school, in which all pupils feel like they belong and can have their voices heard. It also is a means of exploring problem solving and embracing responsibilities.

After a period of campaigning, the pupils voted by ballot for their own class representatives. The Student Council for the year 2017/18 is as follows:

  1. Leila Reynolds
  2. Robyn Molloy
  3. Penny Berkeley
  4. Patrick Miller
  5. Joe Maloney
  6. Dan Corrigan
  7. Anna Weldon
  8. Sarah Weijer

The Student Council meet every week or two, under the guidance of Mrs. Kinkead.

The first major achievement of the Student Council has been the organisation of a Hallowe’en Disco in the school hall, which raised €536 for the Simon Community- a charity which helps homeless people in Ireland. This is a wonderful example of how great things can happen when students, teachers and parents work together. =)